City Election Results

Your-Vote-CountsMajor changes are coming to several area towns as a result of Tuesday’s elections. Voter turnout in Dyersville was reported to be around twenty-percent – not a big surprise since many residents have expressed concerns over city government decisions over the past couple years, especially in regards to the All-Star Ballpark Heaven project at the Field of Dreams. Mayor Jim Heavens was defeated by challenger Alvin Haas, who won with 52-percent of the vote Tuesday. Longtime council members Dan Willenborg and Robert Platz were also defeated – Willenborg was beat by Mark Wagner, who won with 54-percent of the vote, and Platz was beat out by Theresa Bockenstedt, who won with 57-percent of the vote. In Strawberry Point, Mayor Dale Fox was defeated by Ronald Highland, who won with 44-percent of the vote. Also in Strawberry Point, current City Council member Wally Rowcliffe was re-elected, along with Travis Kruger. In Independence, Mayor Carl Scharff was defeated by Bonita Davis, who won with 59-percent of the vote. Independence City Council winners include incumbent Jon Holland, Michael Lenius, Donald Brown and Austin Grover. And in Oelwein, Mayor Larry Murphy was beat out by Jason Manus, who won with 52-percent of the vote.
Manchester’s city races were uncontested this year, but here’s a look at the numbers… Manchester Mayor Milt Kramer was re-elected with 82 votes. Ron Struble was re-elected to the City Council At-Large with 87 votes, and Mary Ann Poynor was elected to the council’s 2nd Ward seat, receiving 34 votes. Poynor will replace longtime council member Tony Broghammer, who will retire at the end of the year.
Here are the winners of some other contested mayoral races in the area…

In Hopkinton, Mayor Cathy Harris was re-elected over challenger Darlene Fjelstul with 65-percent of the vote.
In Fairbank – Bill Cowell won with 73-percent of the vote
In Hazleton – Gerald VandeVorde with 61-percent
In Garber – Nioka Schroaeder with 64-percent
And in Delaware – no candidates had filed to run for mayor, but Chris Roling was the unofficial winner by write-in with 13 votes.
Here’s a look at some area city council winners…

In Dundee – Two write-in candidates receied more votes than the candidates on the ballot. Marcia Mescher received 29 votes and Glen Puffett received 19 – more than Scott Gibbs and Tom Gibbs, who received 14 and 11 respectively. The County Auditor’s Office says that means Mescher and Puffett are the unofficial winners.
In Greeley – incumbent Michael Schmitz, incumbent Terry Kloser and Justin Fry.
In Ryan – Delores Kolka, Wade Feldmann and Maria Gaffney.
In Earlville – Chris Rude, Shannon Richardson and Dale Smock.
In Colesburg – incumbent Rex Meyer and Tom Forkenbrock.
In Hopkinton – no candidates filed to run for City Council, but Janet Buckner and Julie Davis were declared the unofficial winners with 9 and 8 write-in votes respectively.
In Garnavillo – Robert Bodish, Lyndon Meyer and Fern Moser.
In Rowley – incumbent Sue Fangman and Matthew Platte.
In Cascade – incumbent Bill Hosch, Ed Recker and Greg Staner.
In Garber – Lyle Schroeder, Hermie Schroeder, Ray Demuth, Leroy Dugan and John Dedic.
In Delaware – there were five open spots on the City Council, but no candidates had filed to run. However, write-in votes have declared the unofficial winners as Harlan Bond, Lonny Fischler, Rick Lahr, Burt Davis and Tim Glass.
And in Edgewood – there were two candidates on the ballot for three positions – Bruce Hemann and Steven P. Lange. The Auditor’s Office says since no one received a majority of votes cast for the third council position, the City of Edgewood will hold a Runoff Election for this third council position in early December.


And a couple of local measures on the ballots in area towns…

Worthington’s Local Option Sales Tax vote passed with 90-percent support.
Quasqueton’s Library Tax passed with 59-percent of the vote.

Top copyright 2014 cmedia inc.