Awards Given at Delaware County Pork Board’s Annual Meeting

The Delaware County Pork Producers and Porkettes held their annual meeting last night. Around forty people attended the event at the Earlville Community Center. Several awards were presented, including the Hog Wild Award, which was given to Al Boge.
Pork Meeting 1
Mark and Ellen Francois were honored with the Pork Achievement Award. The couple has helped for many years with grilling at the pork tent at the Iowa State Fair. Mark has also served on the Pork Board and Ellen has helped out with the Lil’ Pork Royalty contests.
Pork Meeting 2
And the Associate of the Year Award was given to Jen Hosch, who works at Tri-Vet Associates in Dyersville. Retiring Delaware County Pork Board members Shirley Manternach, Ken Ries and Mark Francois were recognized, and new board members Ellen Francois and Jake Supple were welcomed to the group. Any pork producer, business associate or pork industry supporter is welcome to join the board – contact Shirley Helmrichs or any pork board member for more information. And last night’s annual meeting also featured a new contest called “A Taste of Pork”, in which anyone was welcomed to bring a pork appetizer and have those in attendance vote for their favorite. Ellen Francois’ “Pizza Pork Snacks” won first place out of over a dozen entries.
Pork Meeting 3
Francois won one-hundred dollars for her first place recipe, with Becky Ries taking second place and Tony Ries winning third.

Top copyright 2014 cmedia inc.