Maquoketa Valley Gets First Two State Champs In School Wrestling History

Maquoketa Valley got their first two state champions in school wrestling program history Saturday night when Ryan Parmely took the Class 1A 220 pound crown with a 4-3 decision over Vinnie Harvey of St. Ed Ft. Dodge. Tyler Yonkovic quickly followed with a 3-1 overtime decision over Landan Paulsen of Woodbury Central to take the 285 pound title. Maquoketa Valley held a welcome home pep rally for their state wrestlers and coaches yesterday afternoon inside the commons of Maquoketa Valley high school. After a Delhi Fire Department escort and a ride on one of their trucks delivering them in front of the school, fifth-year head coach Tim Andrews addressed the great turnout:


The MV wrestling program also set a team record this season with 27 dual wins.

Other results from Saturday night at the State Wrestling Tournament in Des Moines:

Tyler Hoffman of East Buchanan won 8-4 over Christian Brincks of South Winneshiek for the Class 1A 195 pound Championship.

Kyle Fank of Independnce fell to Cash Wilcke of OABCIG 2-1 in the Class 2A 182 Championship.

Bettendorf High won the Class 3A state title. Bettendorf finished four points ahead of 2013 champion Southeast Polk for its fourth state crown. Waverly-Shell Rock was third.

Davenport Assumption won the Class 2A championship, with Mediapolis finishing second and Albia coming in third. West Delaware finished 6th in team scoring, with Independence finishing 14th.

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont took top honors in Class 1A, followed by Alburnett and Clarion-Goldfield. Maquoketa Valley finished 7th in team scoring.

Seventeen of the twenty-eight KMCH area state wrestlers placed on Saturday and came home with medals.

Each school’s wrestlers with their weight class and place include;

West Delaware:
113 Patrick Woods 3rd
126 Sam Phillips 4th
160 Jake Voss 4th
170 Brent Lammers 5th
145 Chase Straw 3rd
182 Kyle Fank 2nd
Maquoketa Valley:
126 Jared Coyle 8th
220 Ryan Parmely 1st
285 Tyler Yonkovic 1st
East Buchanan:
195 Tyler Hoffman 1st
North Linn:
106 Brock Henderson 4th
Ed-Co: 138
Sawyer Amling 5th
Western Dubuque:
132 Austin Hosch 6th
152 Dylan Gansen 7th
170 Max Lyon 4th
285 Daniel Pike 3rd
138 Cody Naber 4th


Top copyright 2014 cmedia inc.