Special Weather Statement SPECIAL WEATHER STATEMENT - Clayton County  - Delaware County  - Dubuque County  - Fayette County  - Jones County
AudioLocal News

Absentee Voting High in 2020 Primary Election

Today is the Primary Election.

Voters will be heading to the polls to decide who will be going head to head in the November races for several seats on the national, state and county levels.

Delaware County Auditor Carla Becker says the big focus for this election has been absentee voting due to COVID-19. The Secretary of State’s Office mailed absentee ballot request forms to all of Iowa’s registered voters to encourage them to vote absentee rather than come to the polls. And Becker says they’ve had a huge absentee voter response from Delaware County.

If you received an absentee ballot by mail, but still haven’t turned it in – you can do that yet today by hand-delivering your ballot to the Delaware County Auditor’s Office at the courthouse by 9 pm tonight. And Becker says if you didn’t get your absentee ballot in, but don’t want to go into the polls, you have another option – curbside voting.

And if you do head to the polls, Becker says they’ll be taking plenty of precautions in an effort to keep everyone safe from COVID-19.

She says a few of Delaware County’s usual poll workers had concerns about working the polls today, so around eight to ten high school students have been recruited to fill their positions.

And while some counties like Dubuque and Buchanan are combining precincts for today’s Primary Election, Delaware County is not. Delaware County’s precincts are as follows:

Adams and Hazel Green vote at Ryan City Hall

Colony votes at Colesburg Community Center

Delaware votes at the Delaware County Rec Center

Delhi Township and City of Delaware vote at St. John’s Catholic Church in Delhi

Honey Creek and Elk vote at St. Mark’s Parish Center

Manchester’s 1st Ward votes at the Manchester Fire Station

Manchester’s 2nd Ward votes at the Delaware County Community Center

Manchester’s 3rd Ward votes at the Seibert Park Memorial Hall

Milo and Prairie vote at the Delaware County Conservation Building

Oneida, North Fork and Bremen vote at the Earlville Civic Center

Richland and Coffins Grove vote at the Dundee Community Center

South Fork and Union vote at the Hopkinton Community Center

Polls will be open from 7 am to 9 pm today.

There are five Democratic candidate vying for the chance to go up against Republican U.S. Senator Joni Ernst in November – they are Michael Franken, Kimberly Graham, Theresa Greenfield, Eddie Mauro and Cal Woods.

Two Republican candidates are competing today for the chance to face Democratic Congresswoman Abby Finkenauer in November – they are Thomas Hansen and Ashley Hinson.

There is no Democratic candidate vying for Republican State Senator Dan Zumbach’s District 48 seat this year.

But State Representative Lee Hein could have a challenger in November, as Everett Chase of Monticello is running for the seat on today’s Democratic ballot.

And here in Delaware County, there are no challengers on either side for the county seats up for election. County Sheriff John LeClere, County Auditor Carla Becker and County Supervisors Jeff Madlom and Pete Buschmann – all Republicans – are running unopposed in the Primary, with no Democratic candidates filing to run against them.



Back to top button
Mix 94.7 KMCH