Wind Chill Advisory WIND CHILL ADVISORY - Buchanan County  - Clayton County  - Delaware County  - Dubuque County  - Fayette County  - Jones County  - Linn County
Local News

Iowa Delegation Votes to Accept Electoral College Results

Iowa’s congressional delegation was unanimous in its rejection of attempts to delay confirmation of Joe Biden’s Electoral College win.

Democrat Cindy Axne of West Des Moines, Republicans Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Ottumwa and Ashley Hinson of Marion announced in advance that they would accept the Electoral College results when they were presented in the U.S. House. Republican Randy Feenstra of Hull — the other member of Iowa’s delegation in the House — issued a written statement last (Wednesday) night. Feenstra said he was following the Constitution by ensuring the Electoral College votes were confirmed.

Republicans Chuck Grassley and Joni Ernst both issued written statements after voting in the Senate. Grassley said election disputes are to be settled in the courts. Grassley noted none of the 78 lawsuits filed on President Trump’s behalf had changed any state’s election results – and Grassley said politicians in Washington shouldn’t second guess the courts once they’ve ruled. Ernst said objecting to the Electoral College count will not change the outcome — and Ernst said the “reprehensible violence” in the U.S. Capitol won’t change it, either.

Feenstra, Grassley and Ernst all expressed concern about the conduct of elections. Feenstra called for hearings in the House to investigate allegations of ballot fraud. Ernst said she supports creation of a bipartisan commission to investigate the administration of this year’s election. And Grassley said it’s important for state legislatures to take steps to restore trust in the outcome of elections.

Also last night on Twitter, former Iowa Congressman and Manchester resident Jim Nussle announced he could no longer stay in the Republican Party. Nussle said “I will no longer claim I am a Republican tonight as I am outraged and devastated by the actions of too many elected Republicans (some I know and served with) and supporters. Today a final line was crossed that I will not excuse. The GOP is NO more and left me and others behind.”

Nussle represented Iowa’s First District from 1991 to 2006.


Back to top button