Local Sports

HS Wrestling: West Delaware Crowns 10 Champions, Claim WaMaC Title

The rescheduled WaMaC Conference tournament was held Monday night at the Seedorff Gymnasium at West Delaware High School. The host Hawks were dominant and broke two tournament records as they had 10 individual champions which was three better than the record which was held by seven teams, including when West Delaware claimed seven champions in 2013. They also edged the record for most team points scored in a tournament as they scored 311 1/2 points last night which is 3 1/2 points better than the mark the 2013 Hawks set. Blake Engel, Jared Voss, and Wyatt Voelker all won their second WaMaC titles, while Brayden Maury, Carson Less, Reily Dolan, Jadyn Peyton, Cael Meyer, Christian Nunley, and Carson Petlon all won their first conference titles.

Independence finished in 2nd place with 150 points and had two individual champions as Isaiah Weber won his third straight WaMaC title and Mitch Johnson won his first title for the Mustangs, and Beckman finished in 4th place as they were led by Nick Hageman who won the 145 pound title. For complete results click HERE.


Back to top button