Local Sports

HS Wrestling: 57 Area Wrestlers Qualify For Districts

The high school wrestling postseason started on Saturday and 57 area wrestlers in class 1A and 2A placed in the top two of their weight classes to qualify for the district tournament next Saturday. West Delaware, Independence, and Beckman also qualified for the team regional duals as all three won the team title at their sectional, and will wrestle tomorrow night for a chance to qualify for the state duals held next Wednesday at the Wells Fargo Arena.

In Manchester: West Delaware scored 299 points and qualified 13 wrestlers to the district meet at Solon next Saturday as they finished 99 points ahead of 2nd place Mount Vernon. The Hawks qualifiers were Brayden Maury, Carson Less, Blake Engel, Reily Dolan, Stavely Maury, Logan Peyton, Jadyn Peyton, Isaac Fettkether, Jared Voss, Cael Meyer, Wyatt Voelker, Christian Nunley, and Carson Petlon. With the sectional win the Hawks will host a regional dual tomorrow night as South Tama will take on DeWitt Central for a chance to take on the Hawks in the regional dual final. Monticello finished in 3rd place as they advance five wrestlers to the district meet as Cael Sampson, Kale Hansen, Mark Sunlin, Kain Luensman, and Tyler Luensman all qualified for the Panthers. Anamosa finished in 5th place and qualified two for the district meet in Alex Casey and Nathan Keating. For ocmplete results click HERE. 

In Independence: Independence had 10 wrestlers qualify to the district meet next Saturday at Williamsburg. Kaden Kremer, Kale Wieland, Carter Straw, Brandon O’Brien, Isaiah Weber, Teegan McEnany, Mitch Johnson, Marcus Beatty, Korver Hupke, and Brady McDonald all advanced for the Mustangs. Independence also won the sectional team title as they finished with 264 1/2 points as they finished ahead of Williamsburg who finished with 201 points. The Mustangs will host a regional dual and await the winner of the semifinal between Williamsburg and West Liberty. For complete results click HERE.

In Cascade: Beckman advanced seven wrestlers to districts and won the sectional team title at Cascade, as they will head to Gilbertville tomorrow night to take on Sigourney-Keota and with a win will take on Don Bosco in the final. The seven Blazer district qualifiers are Nick Schmidt, Nick Hageman, Conner Grover, Ryan Funke, Nick Wulfekuhle, Owen Huehnergarth, and Jason Koopman. East Buchanan finished in 2nd place as Jayden Peyton, AJ Kremer, TJ Lau, Tate Fults, Luke Recker, and Cody Fox qualified for the Buccaneers. Cade Cook, Cael Bridgewater, Blaine Baumgartner, Curtis Schott, Jarin Peyton, and Nathan Rechkemmer were the six district qualifiers for North Linn. Cascade had three qualifiers in Trever Freiburger, Aidan Noonan, and Carson Staner. Maquoketa Valley advanced two to districts as Carter Kruse and Brady Davis both qualified for the Wildcats. For complete results click HERE.

In Monona: Starmont and Ed-Co wrestled at the sectional hosted by MFL MarMac. Bowen Munger and Louis Hamlett qualified for the Stars, while Dawson Bergan was the lone qualifier for the Vikings. For complete results click HERE.


Back to top button