AudioLocal News

DNR Changing Deer Hunting Rules in Some Counties

The state Natural Resources Commission has given preliminary approval to some changes in deer hunting regulations that will impact several counties.

The DNR’s Tyler Harms says general deer licenses are being reestablished for all seasons in Hamilton, Webster, and Wright counties.

The January antlerless-deer-only season is being conditionally reinstated for five counties.

The DNR’s goal is to stabilize deer numbers in these counties and slow the spread of Chronic Wasting Disease. The changes also will modify the antlerless-deer-only license quotas in 25 other counties, including an increase in quotas in Buchanan, Dubuque and Fayette.

The rules are now open for public comment and there will be a public comment hearing on March 30th from noon to 1 pm.


story courtesy of Radio Iowa


Back to top button