Dense Fog Advisory DENSE FOG ADVISORY - Buchanan County  - Clayton County  - Delaware County  - Dubuque County  - Fayette County  - Jones County  - Linn County

Sen. Grassley Supports Bipartisan Resolution Encouraging Dairy Consumption and Recognizing Dairy Producers

WASHINGTON – Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) today joined Sens. Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.) and 13 colleagues in introducing a bipartisan resolution in support of the designation of June 2021 as “National Dairy Month.” The resolution aims to recognize the important role dairy plays in a healthy diet and the exceptional work of dairy producers in being stewards of the land and livestock.

“Our dairy farmers play a critical role in providing products that help maintain our nation’s overall health and wellness,” Grassley said. “I’m proud to join my colleagues in supporting this resolution and thanking our dairy farmers for all their hard work keeping milk on the dinner tables and ice cream in the local shops.”

The U.S. dairy industry serves as a key driver in the national food system and supports the people of the United States both nutritionally and economically. According to the 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, dairy products have a nutritional composition that puts them ahead of the curve in maintaining good health and reduced risk of chronic diseases throughout all stages of life.

This resolution also highlights the economic impact of dairy producers in the United States, and encourages consumers to visit with dairy producers to gain a better understanding of the production process. It is estimated that the U.S. dairy industry supported 3.3 million jobs and $41.6 billion in direct wages to support workers and their families.

Joining Grassley, Marshall and Gillibrand on the resolution are Sens. John Cornyn (R-Texas), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Angus King (I-Maine), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Ben Ray Lujan (D-N.M.), Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.).

Full text of the resolution can be found HERE.

Save Local Radio

Back to top button