Local News

Plan One for Iowa Redistricting Released

Plan 1 for Iowa redistricting has been released, with redrawn boundaries for Iowa’s congressional districts showing NO potential match ups between incumbents.

District lines are redrawn every 10 years, after the Census, to account for population changes.

Congresswoman Ashley Hinson of Marion, a Republican, lives in the proposed first congressional district, which would cover a dozen counties. The cities in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Davenport, Burlington and Fort Madison would be in that first district.

Republican Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Ottumwa lives in the proposed second district. The 26-count area includes the cities of Waterloo, Ames, Marshalltown, Dubuque and Decorah.

The proposed third district, where Democratic Congresswoman Cindy Axne of West Des Moines lives, covers 17 counties. It stretches from the Des Moines metro to the Missouri border, including the cities of Bloomfield on the east and Clarinda on the west.

Congressman Randy Feenstra of Hull, a Republican, lives in the proposed fourth district. It covers 44 counties and includes the cities of Council Bluffs, Sioux City, Mason City, Fort Dodge and Sidney in the southwest corner.


story courtesy of Radio Iowa


Back to top button