AudioLocal News

Iowa Senate Rejects First Proposed Redistricting Plan

The Iowa Senate has rejected the first proposed redistricting plan.

Plan 1 was released a couple weeks ago, with proposed redrawn boundaries for congressional and legislative districts that would be in effect for the next decade.

State Senator Dan Zumbach of Ryan says the first plan would have changed District 48, which he currently serves.

The first plan would have kept Senator Zumbach in District 48, but it also would have put fellow Republican Senators Carrie Koelker of Dyersville and Craig Johnson of Independence in his district too. The first plan would have also split Delaware County right down the middle for the Iowa House boundaries, moving current State Representative Lee Hein of Monticello out of the district into solely Jones County and portions of Cedar County. You can find the proposed maps for Plan 1 here:

Representative Hein told KMCH he would have voted yes for the Plan 1, but the Iowa House didn’t get the opportunity to vote during Tuesday’s special session. With the Iowa Senate voting no first, Senator Zumbach says that was all it took for the first map to get rejected.

Senator Zumbach says now a second redistricting map will be drawn up and presented to legislators.

Once a new map is approved, the new re-shaped districts will go into effect for the 2022 elections.


Back to top button