Local NewsPhotos

Delaware County 4-H Program Honors Volunteers

This year’s annual Delaware County 4-H Volunteer Appreciation Banquet was held on Sunday, November 21st at the Delaware County Fairgrounds in Manchester. Due to the cancellation of the 2020 Volunteer Banquet, awards were presented to 2020 and 2021 honorees.

Jade Schneider, Delaware County Extension Director and Kenzie Zumbach, Delaware County Youth Coordinator, presented the 4-H Awards of the Clover certificates and pins to 4-H club leaders, project leaders, and Youth Committee members who have served for 5 years and at 5-year increments thereafter. Five-year winners were presented the Award of the Silver Clover including Carly Recker, Cam Schulte, Debra Prier, Carmen Knipper, and Tami Lubben. The Award of the Gold Clover for 10 years of service was awarded to Kurt Knipper and Nancy Cook. The Award of the Pearl Clover for 15 years of service went to Diane Recker. The Award of the Diamond Clover for 20 years of service was Jill Hoeger, Kelly Jared, Kathy Rahe, and David Broghammer. The Award of the Ruby Clover for 30 years of service was presented to Kathy Hutchinson and Steve Schwietert. Receiving the Award of the 5 Point Diamond Clover for 40 years of service was Shirley Helmrichs. For 45 years of service, JoAnn Kruse received the Award of the Clover. For his 55 years of service, David Kunde was honored with the 5-Point Pearl Clover.

The 4-H Alumni Award was awarded to Jeannie Domeyer and Kathy Rahe. This award honors former 4-H members whose achievements exemplify effective citizenship, leadership, community and public service, and have success in a chosen career.

Kurt Palmer and Colleen Bonert were the recipients of the Honorary 4-H Member Award. This award recognizes adults who have given service and leadership to 4-H through community service and success in a chosen career.

The “Meritorious Service To 4-H” Award recipients were Old 20 Auctions and the Delaware County Cattlemen. This award is given to a business or individuals who give their time and/or resources to support the Delaware County 4-H program.

Manchester Livestock Auction and Bob & Jeni Ries received the Distinguished 4-H Service Award which is a special recognition give to businesses or individuals who have gone above and beyond to support the Delaware County 4-H program.

The final award of the night was the “I Dare You’ Award given to the most outstanding 4-H members for their excellence in character, balanced personal development and have demonstrated qualities of constructive leadership. The recipients for 2020 and 2021 were Kieran Monaghan, Makayla Gasper, Belle McGovern, and Leah Ries.

Donors of the Delaware County 4-H scholarships were also recognized for their continued support to the county youth members. The recipients of the scholarships were recognized at their high school graduation ceremonies. The 2020 Delaware County 4-H Scholarships totaled $7,550 and in 2021 the total given was $8,550. We thank the generous donors for supporting our youth as they continue their education.

Iowa State University Extension and Outreach of Delaware County thanks all of its volunteers and sponsors for their continued support to the 4-H program throughout the years.

photos courtesy of ISU Extension and Outreach Delaware County


Back to top button