Nine Students in the running for Iowa Pork Roya

Nine young women and men are competing for three positions on the 2022 Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA) Youth Leadership Team. The competition is Jan. 25 and 26 in Des Moines. Winners will be named at an evening banquet Jan. 26.
The Youth Leadership Team is designed for those who are passionate about the pork industry.
Contestants are seniors in high school or college students up to age 21 as of Jan. 1. Candidates will be judged on their knowledge about pork and pig production as shown in a speech presentation, personal interview, media interview, experience, and written test about the topics.
The female contestant with the highest score will be crowned Iowa Pork Queen, and receives a $4,000 scholarship, plaque, crown and sash. Two other applicants will become Iowa Pork Ambassadors; they each receive a $4,000 scholarship and plaque. All three will assist with state pork promotional and educational activities throughout 2022.
Listed alphabetically by county, contestants and their hometowns are:
  • Buchanan — Kirby Cook, Winthrop
  • Clinton — Brooklyn Kucera, Bryant
  • Delaware — Gracee Brooks, Manchester
  • Emmet — Hallie Ayers, Estherville
  • Emmet — Lynzie Burton, Estherville
  • Harrison — Zoe Reffitt, Dunlap
  • Plymouth — Kiley Allan, Le Mars
  • Story — Jackson Sterle, Roland
  • Warren — Maggie Staudacher, Indianola
Current members of the Youth Leadership Team are Leah Marek, Riverside; Paige Dagel, Sanborn; and Reagan Gibson, Panora.
Back to top button