Local News

Delaware County Releases Listing of Candidates for June Primary Ballots

No one has filed to run against the incumbents in Delaware County in this year’s June primary election.

Last Friday was the deadline to file to run, with all four incumbents filing to run for re-election unopposed – District 3 County Supervisor Shirley Helmrichs, County Attorney John Bernau, County Treasurer Pam Klein and County Recorder Daneen Schindler. 

Due to redistricting, there will be a new State Representative representing Delaware County next year. Lee Hein’s district is moving out of Delaware County, leaving the seat vacant. Republican Craig Johnson of Independence and Democrat Terry McGovern of Earlville have filed to run for State Representative in District 67, which will cover Delaware County. 

Other candidates on the June primary ballot in Delaware County include Republicans Jim Carlin and incumbent Chuck Grassley and Democrats Abby Finkenauer, Michael Franken and Glenn Hurst for U.S. Senator; Republican incumbent Ashley Hinson and Democrat Liz Mathis for U.S. Representative District 2; Republican incumbent Kim Reynolds and Democrat Deidre DeJear for Iowa Governor; Republican incumbent Paul Pate and Democrats Joel Miller and Eric Van Lancker for Secretary of State; Republicans Todd Halbur and Mary Ann Hanusa and Democrat incumbent Rob Sand for State Auditor; Republican Roby Smith and Democrat incumbent Michael Fitzgerald for State Treasurer; Republican incumbent Mike Naig and Democrat John Norwood for Secretary of Ag; and Republican Brenna Bird and Democrat incumbent Tom Miller for Attorney General. 

The primary will be held Tuesday, June 7th. 

Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate announced yesterday that the absentee ballot request period is now open, so voters wishing to cast their ballot through the mail can now submit their request for an absentee ballot. County auditors can begin mailing absentee ballots 20 days ahead of Election Day, which will be May 18th.


photo courtesy of Janelle Tucker/KMCH

Back to top button