Local News

Voters Heading to Polls on Primary Election Day

Today is Election Day – it’s the June Primary.

And Iowa’s top election official says there’s a team of state and federal officials working to ensure the safety of Iowa voters, poll workers and ballots.

Secretary of State Paul Pate emphasizes that Iowans use paper ballots and tabulating machines, which are not connected to the Internet. But he says he often gets reports of misinformation — some of it malicious — about Iowa’s elections. 

This is the first election after redistricting of congressional and legislative districts. Pate says voters may find that a person who has represented them before in the U.S. congress or the state legislature may no longer be on their ballot because of district boundary changes.

Here’s what today’s ballot looks like for Delaware County voters:

In contested races…

Incumbent Chuck Grassley and Jim Carlin are running for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senator, while Abby Finkenauer, Michael Franken and Glenn Hurst are vying for the Democratic nomination.

Republican incumbent Paul Pate is running again for Secretary of State, with Joel Miller and Eric Van Lancker running on the Democratic ticket.

And Todd Halbur and Mary Ann Hanusa are running for the Republican nomination for State Auditor, while Democratic incumbent Rob Sand is running unopposed.

In unopposed races in today’s Primary…

It’s Republican Ashley Hinson running for re-election for U.S. Representative District 2, with Liz Mathis the Democratic candidate. Kim Reynolds is running for another term as Iowa Governor on the Republican ballot, while Deidre DeJear is on the Democrats’ ballot. Democratic incumbent Michael Fitzgerald is running for another term as State Treasurer, with Roby Smith running for the Republican nomination. Secretary of Ag Mike Naig is running again on the Republican ticket, with John Norwood on the Democratic side. Democratic incumbent Tom Miller is running again for Attorney General, with Brenna Bird on the Republican’s ballot.

Locally, Delaware County will be getting a new State Representative next year due to redistricting. District 67 features Republican Craig Johnson of Independence and Democrat Terry McGovern of Earlville – they’re both running unopposed in today’s Primary.

And Delaware County’s four elected officials are running for re-election on the Republican ballot – they include Shirley Helmrichs for County Board of Supervisors District 3, Pam Klein for County Treasurer, Daneen Schindler for County Recorder and John Bernau for County Attorney. 

Polls are open today from 7 am to 8 pm. And in Delaware County, you’ll vote at the same place where you voted in the November general election. If you’re not sure where to go to vote, just call your county auditor’s office. 

And we’ll have results for you tonight as they come in here on Mix 94.7 KMCH.

Back to top button