Ag Informer – DelCo 4H Awards

This year’s annual Delaware County 4-H Volunteer Appreciation Banquet was held on Sunday, November 20th at the Dyersville Social Center. The banquet is held each year to celebrate the success of the Delaware County 4-H program and our wonderful volunteers and supporters who make it all possible.

Jade Schneider, Delaware County Extension Director and Kenzie Zumbach, Delaware County Youth Coordinator, presented the 4-H Awards of the Clover certificates and pins to 4-H club leaders, project leaders, and Youth Committee members who have served for 5 years and at 5-year increments thereafter. The Award of the Silver Clover for 5 years of service was presented to Nicci Supple. The Award of the Gold Clover for 10 years of service was awarded to Amy Putz, Jenifer Deutmeyer-McGovern, and Jill Cahill. The Award of the Pearl Clover for 15 years of service went to Susan Hermann. The Award of the Diamond Clover for 20 years of service was Tammy Gasper, Marcia Voelker, and Jennifer Zumbach.

The 4-H Alumni Award was awarded to Dianne Reth. This award honors former 4-H members whose achievements exemplify effective citizenship, leadership, community and public service, and have success in a chosen career.

Duane Hogan and Dean Hogan were the recipients of the Honorary 4-H Member Award. This award recognizes adults who have given service and leadership to 4-H through community service and success in a chosen career.

The Meritorious Service To 4-H award recipients was Al Boge. This award is given to a business or individuals who give their time and/or resources to support the Delaware County 4-H program.

The Delaware County Bankers Association received the Distinguished 4-H Service Award which is a special recognition give to businesses or individuals who have gone above and beyond to support the Delaware County 4-H program.

The final award of the night was the “I Dare You’ award given to the most outstanding 4-H members for their excellence in character, balanced personal development and have demonstrated qualities of constructive leadership. The recipient for 2022 was Maria Sperfslage.

Donors of the Delaware County 4-H scholarships were also recognized for their continued support to the county youth members. The recipients of the scholarships were recognized at their high school graduation ceremonies. The 2022 Delaware County 4-H Scholarships totaled $8,550. We thank the generous donors for supporting our youth as they continue their education.

With the hard work and dedication of our 4-H volunteers and supporters, the Delaware County 4-H program continues to grow and thrive with high participation and enrollment numbers.

For the 2021-22 4-H year, Delaware County enrollment maintained the 3rd highest enrollment across the state of Iowa with a total of 409 4-H members. Out of 100 county 4-H programs, Delaware County had the highest 4-H membership behind Polk and Story counties. Delaware County 4-H is only 14 members away from the second highest spot.

Back to top button