Local NewsPhotos

West Delaware School Board Team Honored with Awards from IASB

The West Delaware School Board team has been honored with an award from the Iowa Association of School Boards. 

The team was presented with the prestigious Team Achievement Award at the association’s annual awards – one of only fifteen board teams in the entire state to earn the honor. 

To qualify for this award, the majority of the West Delaware School Board earned Individual Achievement Awards, including Carl Johnson, Sam Milroy, Steve Buesing, Jamie Vaske and Bruce Mitchell. This award is given to individuals who dedicate time and effort to learning, advocacy, leadership and service projects to expand their knowledge and skills for better governance. They join a group of over one hundred school board and area education agency board members who have earned this award for the 2021-22 school year.

West Delaware Superintendent Dr. Kristen Rickey was also honored, receiving the Award of Honor for participating in a certain number of learning opportunities and having at least two board members receive Individual Achievement Awards. Rickey earned this award along with 17 other superintendents and one Area Education Agency chief.

Iowa Association of School Boards Board President Jim Green commended the West Delaware board-superintendent team for their hard work, noting that West Delaware’s leadership team is an exemplary model of lifelong learning for students, staff and administrators.


photo courtesy of West Delaware 

Back to top button