Local News

Independence School District Announces Three Superintendent Finalists

The Independence Community School District is getting closer to finding their next superintendent.

The School Board has announced their three finalists. Ben Petty currently serves as superintendent of the BCLUW Community School District, where he previously served as principal at the high school. Cynthia Phillips is the executive director of high school education in the Cedar Rapids Community School District and previously served as principal of North Polk High School. And Erik Smith is currently the shared superintendent of the AGWSR and Gladbrook-Reinbeck Community School Districts. He previously served as high school principal in the Clarion-Goldfield-Dows Community School District. 

Eighteen candidates applied for the Independence superintendent position, with six invited to screening interviews last week. The school board will conduct final interviews with each of the three finalists next Tuesday. 

The next superintendent will replace Russell Reiter and begin leading the Independence Community School District on July 1st.

Back to top button