Iowa Soybean Association Elect Farmersburg Woman as President

Farmer-leaders of the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) elected Suzanne Shirbroun of Farmersburg as president during its September board meeting held in Ames.
The association’s 22 volunteer farmer directors represent the state’s nine crop reporting districts in overseeing the management and allocation of soybean checkoff and non-checkoff resources.
Shirbroun was first elected as a District 3 director in 2016. She and her husband Joe manage a sixth-generation diversified row crop and seed business in Clayton County. They have been long-time participants in ISA production research activities and advocates for the soybean checkoff and agriculture.
“It’s a privilege to have the opportunity to represent Iowa’s soybean farmers in this role,” said Shirbroun, who most recently served as ISA president-elect. “From market development to international trade, increased demand for high-quality soy is driving farmer optimism heading into the new year. As stewards of soybean checkoff dollars, ISA board members will continue advancing issues directly benefiting Iowa soybean farmers.”
Four farmer-leaders were also appointed to serve on the association’s Executive Committee, including:
  • Brent Swart, President-Elect – Spencer
  • Jeff Frank, Treasurer – Lake View
  • Tom Adam, Secretary – Harper
  • Brent Renner, At-Large – Klemme
Directors are chosen by Iowa soybean farmers through the ISA election in July and take office in September. Members voted for two farmers from their crop reporting district and four farmers to serve as at-large directors.
Newly elected farmers who will serve three-year terms on the board are: Paul Kassel, Spencer (District 1); Sam Showalter, Hampton (District 2); Corey Goodhue, Carlise (District 5); Aimee Bissell, Bedford (At-Large); and Sharon Chism, Huxley (At-Large).
ISA directors also re-elected Steph Essick of Dickens (Clay County); Morey Hill of Madrid (Boone County); and Dave Walton of Wilton (Muscatine County); as directors on the American Soybean Association (ASA) board. Immediate past president Randy Miller of Lacona (Warren County) and Tom Adam (Keokuk County) will join the ASA board for first terms beginning in December.
To learn more, visit
Back to top button