Primary Election Day

bigstock--d-rendering-of-a-badge-to-enc-17083103Today is the Primary Election… The polls will be open from 7 am to 9 pm today.

This year’s primary features several big races… Five Republicans are vying for the party’s nomination for the U.S. Senate seat that is being vacated by Senator Tom Harkin. Joni Ernst, Mark Jacobs, Sam Clovis, Matt Whitaker and Scott Schaben are the candidates, with the winner likely going up against Democrat Bruce Braley.

Five Democrats and three Republicans are in the running for the U.S. Representative District 1 seat, which is being vacated by Congressman Bruce Braley. The Republican candidates include Rod Blum, Gail Boliver and Steve Rathje, while the Democrats are Swati Dandekar, Anesa Kajtazovic, Pat Murphy, Dave O’Brien and Monica Vernon.

Delaware County voters really don’t have any locally contested races to decide… State Representative Lee Hein is running unopposed for the Republican nomination for District 96, and there are no Democratic candidates. Delaware County Supervisor Shirley Helmrichs is running unopposed for re-election for her Board of Supervisors District 3 seat. So is Delaware County Treasurer Carolyn Wilson, Delaware County Recorder Deb Peyton and Delaware County Attorney John Bernau. All four of the Delaware County incumbents are running for the Republican nomination in today’s primary.

Republican voters in rural Dubuque County will choose their nominee for Iowa Senate District 29, with the two candidates including Jim Heavens of Dyersville and James Budde of Bellevue. And seven Democrats are running for two nominations for the Dubuque County Board of Supervisors – they are Tom Hancock of Epworth, Roger Oberbroeckling of Luxemburg, and Donna Smith, Jim Specht, RRS Stewart, David J. Baker and Jim JJ Keane, all of Dubuque.

All the candidates nominated in today’s primary will stand for election in the General Election on November 4th.

Wondering where you need to go to vote today? Here’s the rundown…

Adams / Hazel Green Precinct votes at Ryan City Hall
Colony Precinct votes at Colesburg Community Center
Delaware Precinct votes at Delaware County Rec Center
Delhi Twp / City of Delaware Precinct votes at Delhi Community Center
Honey Creek / Elk Precinct votes at St. Mark’s Parish Center in Edgewood
Manchester 1st Ward votes at Manchester Fire Station
Manchester 2nd Ward votes at Delaware County Community Center
Manchester 3rd Ward votes at Seibert Park Memorial Hall
Milo / Prairie Precinct votes at Delaware County Conservation Building
Oneida / North Fork / Bremen Precinct votes at Earlville Civic Center
Richland / Coffins Grove Precinct votes at Dundee Community Center
South Fork / Union Precinct votes at Hopkinton Community Center

Tune in to KMCH when the polls close tonight at 9 pm… KMCH News Director Janelle Tucker will bring you the election results live as they come in.