City of Manchester Presents Awards

The City of Manchester honored several people last night at their annual Boards and Commissions and Volunteer Recognition Open House. Every year, the City honors a Manchester citizen with the “First Citizen Award”, honoring their dedication to the City. The Manchester Swim Team Coaches were honored with the 2014 Youth Sports Coaches of the Year award. This year’s Distinguished Service Award was presented to the Manchester Good to Great Capital Campaign Committee Co-Chairs – Dianne Hammell, John Dolan and Wes Schulte. The three stepped forward to lead Good to Great’s fundraising campaign, playing a big role in raising 600-thousand dollars for Manchester’s soon-to-be Whitewater Park. And this year’s “First Citizen Award” was presented to Rich McMahon. McMahon has served on numerous boards and committees, volunteers with the schools and spent over twenty years coaching area kids.

City Recog 1

This year’s Meritorious Service Award was presented to NICC President Dr. Liang Chee Wee. Manchester had very little contact with NICC until President Wee came on the scene three years ago. A partnership led to Manchester’s M-REP Center and a close relationship between NICC and the City. President Wee’s genuine personality and passion for education has stood out to the Manchester community. He has attended every single graduation ceremony for the M-REP’s welding classes so he can congratulate the students personally – something you don’t often see from someone in his position. President Wee says receiving the Meritorious Service Award is an incredible honor.

City Recog 2

And a special honor was given at last night’s City Awards… Manchester Mayor Milt Kramer was recognized for serving 40 years as mayor of the city.

City Recog 3

Mayor Milt is the longest serving mayor in Iowa.