General Election Results

voteIt was a victorious night for Republicans as the votes were counted last night. Republican Governor Terry Branstad was elected to another term in Tuesday’s general election, defeating Democrat Jack Hatch with 59-percent of the vote.

Election Results 1

For the first time in state history, Iowa has elected a woman to the U.S. Senate. State Senator Joni Ernst defeated Congressman Bruce Braley in a hard-fought battle 52 to 44 percent. With retiring U.S. Senator Tom Harkin by his side, Braley thanked his supporters. Filling Braley’s vacant seat in the U.S. Congress will be Republican Rod Blum, who narrowly defeated Democrat Pat Murphy 51 to 49 percent.

Election Results 4

Monticello resident and Republican Lee Hein was elected to another term in the Iowa House in District 96. Hein defeated Libertarian Brian Cook of Manchester with 77-percent of the vote. Hein told KMCH he’s glad he can continue on.

Election Results 5

Doug Dabroski of Earlville was elected to fill the District 2 term on the Delaware County Board of Supervisors. Dabroski had been appointed several months ago to temporarily fill a vacant seat on the board after Supervisor Jerry Ries resigned earlier this year. Dabroski easily defeated Denise Boudreau of Colesburg with 78-percent of the vote. And the bond issue pertaining to Delaware County’s proposed jail and Sheriff’s Office renovation and expansion project received more “yes” votes than “no” – 3,224 in favor with 2,406 against – but it looks like it will fall short of the 60-percent supermajority needed to pass, receiving just a little over 57-percent of the vote. The official canvass of votes will be held in the coming days.

Projected winners in other area races… (those remaining blank are still too close to call or do not have all precincts reporting)…

State Senate District 29 –

State Rep. District 55 –

State Rep. District 56 –

State Rep. District 57 –

State Rep. District 58 – incumbent Brian Moore

State Rep. District 64 –

State Rep. District 95 – incumbent Quentin Stanerson

Dubuque Co. Supervisor – Tom Hancock and incumbent Daryl Klein

Dubuque Co. Recorder – John Murphy

Clayton Co. Supervisor –

Clayton Co. Ag Extension Council – Trent Henkes, Brandon Friedlein, Kimberly Carlson, Mindy Rose and Mathew Gaul

Buchanan Co. Supervisor – incumbent Gary Gissel and Don Shonka

Buchanan Co. Treasurer – incumbent Amy Wright

Jones Co. Supervisor – Jon Zirkelbach

Fayette Co. Supervisor – Jeannin Tellin and Darrel Dolf

Fayette Co. Recorder –

Linn Co. Supervisor – James Houser in District 1 and incumbent John Harris in District 5

Delaware County Auditor Carla Becker says the precincts were busy throughout the day on Tuesday, and absentee ballot requests set a record for a non-presidential year at nearly three-thousand.