Dyersville Elects New Mayor; Ryan Mayor Re-Elected

voteDyersville has a new mayor following Tuesday’s city elections. Dan Willenborg was elected mayor, defeating incumbent Alvin Haas by large spread of more than 500 votes. Willenborg had served on the city council for eight years until 2013, when voters cleaned house and voted in a new mayor and several new city council members after controversy over the Field of Dreams ballpark expansion. KMCH News Director Janelle Tucker caught up with Willenborg Tuesday night after the numbers came in and he called the win “humbling”.

Meanwhile, Ryan voters chose to re-elect Mike Corcoran as mayor. Corcoran defeated Tony Zieser with 58-percent of the vote to earn a seventh term. Janelle spoke with Corcoran after he was declared the winner Tuesday night.

In other mayoral races, write-in Mark Priebe defeated Bruce Hanson and Roger Kuehl with 44-percent of the vote to become Garnavillo’s new mayor. Josh Pope was elected Elkader’s new mayor, defeating Robert Garms with 63-percent of the vote. And in Rowley, Sue Orr Webster won the mayor’s seat, receiving 68-percent of the vote over Rita Knutson.

In city council races, Dyersville city council member Mark Breitbach was re-elected to the At-Large seat, defeating Michael Mullis with 68-percent of the vote. Fellow Dyersville city council member Mike English will also retain his seat, defeating write-in candidate Patty Kramer with 70-percent of the vote. Colesburg voters elected incumbent Jodi McCabe, Jim Diers and Roger Waterman, defeating incumbent Leo Roling. In Strawberry Point, Duane Johnson, Hannah Evans and Megan Hansel were elected to the city council, defeating Ronald Highland. In Monticello, Brian Wolken defeated incumbent Bill Meyer with 71-percent of the vote for the City Council At-Large seat, with incumbent Christina Lux re-elected to Ward 3 with a 59-percent win over Keith Tackett. In Ryan, incumbent Joy Jager and Bradley Woods were chosen for the city council, beating out incumbent Andy Lyness. In Independence, Robert Hill won the City Council At-Large seat with 59-percent of the vote, Denny Vaughn was elected to 2nd Ward with 68-percent and Dustin Dallenbach won the 4th Ward seat with 62-percent.

There were no official candidates running in Earlville or Delaware, but there were several write-ins for mayor and city council in both cities. There were also write-ins for several other open seats in area towns. The runoff cities will be canvassed at the Delaware County Supervisors’ office on Thursday afternoon at 4:15 pm.

Check out the unofficial results from Delaware County’s city races by clicking here: delawarecountyelectionresults (the results can also be found on the Delaware County Auditor’s website).