Western Dubuque Biodiesel Manager Elected IRFA President


JOHNSTON, IA – The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association (IRFA) has announced its Board of Directors, Officers and Executive Committee for 2016, elected at its December 10th annual meeting. Each producer member has a seat on the Board and votes on officers. New officers will serve a one-year term during the 2016 calendar year.


2016 IRFA Board of Directors Officers


President                    Tom Brooks, Western Dubuque Biodiesel

Vice President            Eamonn Byrne, Plymouth Energy

Treasurer                    Rick Schwarck, Absolute Energy

Secretary                    Steve Bleyl, Green Plains, Inc.

Executive Director     Monte Shaw (non-voting)


“For renewable fuels in Iowa, 2015 was both a great and challenging year,” stated IRFA President-elect Tom Brooks. “I’m looking forward to leading IRFA, and continuing to build upon our progress as a leader in renewable fuels production and use.”


The IRFA Executive Committee is comprised of the IRFA Officers and other members as elected by the Board. Elected to join the IRFA Officers on the Executive Committee for 2016 are:


Past President          Brian Cahill, Southwest Iowa Renewable Energy

At-Large           Derek Winkel, Renewable Energy Group

At-Large           Craig Willis, Archer Daniels Midland

At-Large           Bill Howell, POET – Coon Rapids


Iowa is the nation’s leader in renewable fuels production. Iowa has 43 ethanol refineries capable of producing 3.9 billion gallons annually, including nearly 55 million gallons of annual cellulosic ethanol production capacity. In addition, Iowa has 12 biodiesel facilities with the capacity to produce nearly 315 million gallons annually.


The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association was formed in 2002 to represent the state’s liquid renewable fuels industry. The trade group fosters the development and growth of the renewable fuels industry in Iowa through education, promotion, legislation and infrastructure development.