HS Football: New Districts Released

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director:

The Iowa High School Athletic Association announced the new districts to be used in the 2016 and 2017 seasons. Plenty of changes took place for area coverage teams.

In class 4A-

Western Dubuque’s new class has them in district 6 with Davenport West, Dubuque Senior, Dubuque Hempstead, North Scott and Pleasant Valley. With only 5 district opponents it will mean 4 non-district games on their schedule.

In class 3A-

The West Delaware Hawks will compete in a entirely different district with all new teams grouped in district #4. DeWitt Central and Maquoketa will be familiar opponents as they both served as non-district foes the last two seasons. The other five teams include; Davenport Assumption, Center Point-Urbana, Clear Creek-Amana, Marion and Dubuque Wahlert.

District 4 features Independence, Decorah, Charles City, Benton Community, South Tama, Vinton-Shellsburg, Waverly-Shell Rock and Cedar Rapids Xavier.

In class 2A-

The 4th district has Beckman, Monticello and Cascade along with Waterloo Columbus, North Fayette Valley, Oelwein, Union and Waukon.

Anamosa goes South and will face Camanche, Mount Vernon, Mediapolis, Mid-Prairie, Northeast, West Liberty and Williamsburg.

In 1A-

Maquoketa Valley returns to the class in district number  after two years away in class A. The Wildcats will face mostly familiar opponents with Bellevue, Clayton Ridge, Durant, Jesup, North Cedar, Tipton and West Branch.

In class A-

Ed-Co, East Buchanan, North Linn, Starmont, Alburnett, Lisbon, Postville and Wapsie Valley.

The 8 teams in each district for all classes except 4A means back to two non-district games for each school. Each program will submit a list of potential non-district opponents and the state will assign those and release the final schedules next month.