Several Honored at Delaware County Dairy Banquet

Dairy Winners 1

Several people involved in the Delaware County dairy industry were honored Saturday night at the 59th annual Delaware County Dairy Banquet. The crowning of new royalty was the highlight of the evening, with Brittany Putz of Petersburg crowned the 2016 Delaware County Dairy Princess.

Putz’s family farms northeast of Petersburg on a farm that’s been in her family for generations.

It was a special night for her family, as Brittany’s parents, Ed and Janet Putz, were honored with the Delaware County Distinguished Dairy Family. Janet says it’s a huge honor that they weren’t expecting.

The Delaware County Distinguished Dairy Service award was presented to Greeley milk hauler Ron Cashman.

Other honorees included Tim and Chelsea Gudenkauf of Ryan, who received the Delaware County Young Dairy Family award; and Beavers Lounge of Manchester, who received the Golden Butter Knife Award.

Alternates for Dairy Princess were Kristi Mensen of Dyersville and Megan Wulfekuhle of Delhi. Nolan Honkomp of Earlville was named Little Mr. Herdsman, with Kayla Hoeger of Earlville crowned Little Miss Squirt and her cousin, Morgan Hoeger of Delhi, named the alternate.

Several young men were also presented Dairy Council scholarships, including Michael Carroll of Ryan, Matthew Lansing of Hopkinton and Trent Westhoff of Dyersville.

And we’ll tell you which area dairy producers were honored for Cow and Herd Recognition Awards on the KMCH Ag Informer on Tuesday.

(photos by Janelle Tucker, KMCH)