10-17-16 Edgewood-Colesburg School Board Meeting

A regular Edgewood-Colesburg School Board Meeting turned into a night of recognition and pride for some of the district’s recent FFA award winners.

On Monday, October 17, the FFA team of Calvin Heims, Kohl Moser, Matt Hense, and Jacob Wessel stood in front of the board in spotlight. This group recently achieved the Tri-State Dairy Champion Award.

Also being recognized was the FFA team comprised of Trevor Hosington, Kohl Moser, Calvin Heims, and Matt Hense, as these young men placed second at the annual Clayton Soil & Water Conservation District Soil Judging Contest.

Other achievements noted that evening were from the Contour Layout Competition, as Trevor Hosington and Tanner Paul won. Cory Kloser placed second in the Pacing Contest.

Following the presentation, the Ed-Co School Board reviewed recent question responses from Representative Patti Ruff and Senator Mike Breitbach. The board had previously reached out to these local legislators in regards to current district standings and statistics …

Currently Ed-Co is one of the 164 districts that receives the minimum level in District Cost per Pupil.  172 districts receive above the minimum level (up to 6,621 or $175 each student). This is a $70,000 short-fall for the district.  Ed-Co is also a district that is above average on the amount spent per pupil on transportation.  This is an additional $130,000 in spending.

The Ed-Co School Board also approved the 2016-2017 “Out of District” school bus travel, and the request for additional allowable growth for the Special Education Deficit of $127,475.95.

Recent resignations and new hires were also approved on Monday evening … the resignation for Shelly Kallenbach was agreed upon by the board, and additions to the district are: Hillary Scherf; Assistant Large Group Speech-Group E/Step 1, Dave Malausky; Juvenile Court Liaison Officer, Elsie Ostwinkle; volunteer for help with play, and Raymond Murphy; volunteer for help with play.