Delaware County to Receive Federal Funding for Flooding

President Obama has declared Delaware County and four other local counties as “major disaster areas” due to severe storms and floods in September and October.

A total of 19 counties were in the declaration, including Buchanan, Clayton, Fayette and Linn.

The president’s action releases federal funding to cover damage to government-owned facilities – but not to private homes and businesses. The federal funds will supplement tax money the State of Iowa, counties and cities have spent in flood preparation and to deal with damage that occurred between September 21st and October 3rd.

The money can be used to cover the costs of repairing or replacing buildings, streets and other structures. It may also be used to cover sand bagging and other activity during the emergency.