Election Results from Local County Races

voteYesterday, we gave you a rundown of the election results from Delaware County… let’s take a look now at how the races in the surrounding counties turned out on Tuesday.


In Buchanan County, Sheriff Bill Wolfgram was re-elected, defeating Glen Fults with 66-percent of the vote.


Clayton Ohrt was elected Buchanan County Supervisor, defeating Ellen Gaffney with 51-percent.


The open Clayton County Auditor’s position will be filled by Jennifer Garms, who edged out Deborah Scott with 51-percent of the vote.


Ray Peterson won a seat on the Clayton County Board of Supervisors, defeating Joleen Jansen and Steve Doeppke with 41-percent.


The four residents elected to the Dubuque County Ag Extension were Lou Ann Krapfl, Bill Watters, Matt Simon and Lindsay James.


The three elected to the Dubuque County Soil and Water Commission were David Ruden, Melvin Wilgenbusch and Jeffrey Schmitt.


In the Dubuque County Supervisors race, David Baker was named the winner. It was a virtual tie at 50-50, but Baker defeated Curt Kiessling by just over two hundred votes.


Janell Bradley won the Fayette County Supervisor seat over Vicki Rowland with 57-percent of the vote.


In Jones County, there were two contested Supervisor races. Wayne Manternach defeated Andrew Bowers with 59-percent in District 1, while Lloyd Eaken defeated Cody Shaffer with 51-percent in District 5.


In Linn County, voters chose to reduce the number of Supervisors from 5 to 3 on Tuesday. The winners included Stacey Walker in District 2, Ben Rogers in District 3 and Brent Oleson in District 4.


And Linn County Sheriff Brian Gardner won re-election, defeating Rick Stewart with 74-percent of the vote.