HS Wrestling: West Delaware Holds Annual Awards Banquet

The West Delaware wrestling team and cheerleaders wrapped up its season Monday night with the annual awards banquet inside the Hanson Auditorium. The Hawks went 8-11 in dual meets this season and finished in second place at the Louisa-Muscatine tournament, and the sectional tournament and reached the regional dual finals. As a team they were awarded the Distinguished Academic Achievement Award by having a combined GPA of 3.33, while senior Kaleb Zieser, and juniors Harrison Goebel, Tristan Voelker, and Ben Litterer earned Academic All-Conference honors by having a GPA of 3.5 or higher. West Delaware head coach Jeff Voss said his team showed improvement throughout the entire season which is always a goal going in:

Individual awards were given out at the banquet and junior Dylan Linderwell, who was unable to wrestle this season but still attended every practice was awarded the Lee Logan Courage award which was voted on by his teammates. Sophomores Ryan Phillips and Ben Ridenour were awarded the Rob Hatfield Coaches award. The John and Dorothy Sill most improved award went to sophomore Jordan Bries, while the captains were voted on by the team and they were given to seniors Sam Johnson and Kaleb Zieser, junior Harrison Goebel, and sophomore Mitchel MangoldMangold was also voted on by his teammates as the team’s most valuable wrestler as he went 43-7 and finished third at this year’s state meet as he went 5-1 at state after losing in the first round and coach Voss will look to Mangold and fellow state qualifier Harrison Goebel to be leaders for next year:

The Jeremy Shover Guts Club Awards was given out to wrestlers who attended every practice both mandatory and optional practices and those wrestlers were Nick Casey, Harrison Goebel, Dylan Linderwell, Ben Ridenour, Brady Antons, Chris LaRosa, Ben Litterer, Ben Petlon, Wyatt Thompson, Tristan Voelker, Evan Woods, Daniel Woods, and Kaleb Zieser.

The wrestling cheerleaders were awarded the Excellence in Academic Achievement award with a team GPA of 3.15 and juniors Hayley Schaul and Aleah Vaske were Academic All-Conference recipients. The most spirited award went to Abbie Placke and Aleah Vaske, most improved were Tjaden Fleege and Christine Boeckenstedt. Coaches award went to Tjaden Fleege, Hayley Schaul, and Aleah Vaske, while the big sister little sister was awarded to Isabel Barron and Abbie Placke.

(Photos by Mike Johnson; Thanks to Jenne Voelker for Cheerleader photos)