West Delaware Basketball: Awards Banquet Wraps Season Up

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director:

The annual season ending awards banquet for West Delaware Boys and Girls Basketball was held last night inside Seedorff Gymnasium.

The Hawk girls varsity team went 8-14 and 5-9 good for 5th place in the WaMaC East divison. Hawks 2nd-year head coach Rod Conrad said there were some nice positives and improvement at times throughout the season:

Haley Lyness was awarded first team all-conference honors, Sarah Morkel was 2nd team and received a IGCA all-district award and honorable mention went to Jamie Glanz and Annie Cassutt.

Awards voted on by the players went to:

Unsung hero= Annie Cassutt

Best Offensive Player= Haley Lyness

Iron Hawk= Jamie Glanz

Most Versatile= Sarah Morkel

6th player= Brooke O’Connell

Most Improved= Kaylee Muller

Best Defensive Player= Madalynn Burke

Most Inspirational= Macey Kleitsch

The program received the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union’s “Distinguished in Academic Achievement” Award with a 3.67 GPA. Also 11 members of the varsity squad earned academic all-conference recognition.

The team earned the 2nd best free throw percentage in a game by shooting 16 of 17 and as a team they shot 66% which is second best in school program history.

The Hawks say goodbye to 4 seniors; Haley Lyness, Jamie Glanz, Sarah Morkel and Annie Cassutt.

The JV team coached by Rich McMahon finished at 7-14 and the Fresh-Soph team was 1-14 led by Shannon Funke.

The varsity boys had one of the best season’s in program history with a 25-2 mark and 4th place finish at the program’s 4th state tournament trip. The 25 wins was the most in program history surpassing the 1999-2000 team that went 24-1. The team won the WaMaC East conference and overall WaMaC conference for the 9th time in program history since 1943 and first since 2008. Fourth-year head coach Matt Uthoff talks about how proud he is of this team:

Coach Uthoff doesn’t take for granted the great chemistry that surrounded the program on and off the floor:

The great learning experience will only help next years team try to keep the Hawks one of the best in the WaMaC conference:

First team all-conference selections went to John Nagel, Tyler Kelley and Derek Krogmann. Nagel was honored INA 3rd team all-state while Krogmann made 2nd team INA all-state. Ryan Trainer was 2nd team all-conference, Kyle Wright and Marshall McCarty were honorable mention. Troy Monaghan was selected to the IBCA first team as a Mr. Hustle award winner. Coach Uthoff and his staff won the East side coach of the year award.

The program earned the Iowa High School Athletic Association “Distinguished Academic Achievement” Award with a 3.26 GPA and 10 of the varsity players were named WaMaC academic all-conference.

The varsity team was presented with special commemorative basketball from local Farm Bureau representatives Randy Mahoney and Kevin Maloney.
The defensive average for the Hawks at 45.5 ppg is the best in program history beating last years team. Derek Krogmann passed Tim Foster for most rebounds in a season with 307. John Nagel took the lead with most free throws made in a season with 266 surpassing Todd Klosterman’s 256. Nagel also finishes with 1,052 career points putting him number four on the all-time boys scoring list behind BJ Hermsen, Todd Klosterman and Casey Ditch. Marshall McCarty is second now with 42% from 3-point range. Ryan Trainer was recognized for playing in 91 varsity games in four seasons.

The five seniors that will leave the program are; Ryan Trainer, Kyle Wright, Marshall McCarty, Troy Monaghan and John Nagel. The group the last 2 seasons help guide the team to a record of 41-9.

Coaches Roger Wright and BJ Hermsen assisted coach Uthoff while Ryan King was the Sophomore coach who went 8-13 and the Freshmen coached by Brad Wubbena were 2-18.