HS Track And Field: Three West Delaware Athletes Commit To Simpson

Simpson College in Indianola will have three West Delaware track and field athletes joining their program next year as Katelyn Mangold and Jamie Glanz will join the girls squad while Ryan Trainer will run on the boys side. The three athletes have thrived throughout their high school careers, and each have made appearances at the state track meet. Mangold is a three-time state meet qualifier and a two-time Drake Relays participant, while Glanz has qualified twice for the state meet in the high jump. On the boys side Trainer made his first state appearance last season qualifying in the shuttle hurdle relay. Simpson College 12th year head coach Dave Cleveland says it’s great to get kids who come from successful programs such as West Delaware:

All three of the future Storm are multi-sport athletes at West Delaware and have been very successful individually along with being great team sport athletes and Cleveland says it’s nice having kids who know what it takes to work hard:

All three athletes continue to help their teams early on this track season and Cleveland, the two-time Iowa Conference coach of the year is looking forward to get them to Indianola:

The West Delaware boys competed Friday night at Beckman and finished in fifth place as a team and head coach Doug Winkowitsch was very pleased with how the boys competed:

Tonight West Delaware travels to Decorah for their invitational before coming home to host their own meet on Thursday and Winkowitsch says this week will be a tough test for the boys with two meets in four days:

Teams Scores From Beckman


1.Northeast 122

2. Wahlert 112

3. Anamosa 105

4. Marion 103

5. West Delaware 102

6. Beckman 65

7. Western Dubuque 59

8. Clayton Ridge 28

9. Columbus 13

9. Maquoketa 13

10. Ed-Co 10

11. Marquette 8.5


1. Monticello 139

2. Dubuque Senior 114

3. Western Dubuque 85

4. North Fayette Valley 83

5. Beckman 69

6. West Delaware 66

7. Northeast 52

8. Clayton Ridge 48

9. Marquette 37

10. Ed-Co 27

11. Columbus 11

12. Postville 3.5