Larsen Wins Pin Oak’s Sole Survivor Tournament

The 42nd Annual Sole Survivor Tournament was held on Friday, June 30th at Pin Oak Pub and Links in Manchester.

Clayton Larsen is the 2017 Sole Survivor Champion, outlasting the field of nine other players. The Sole Survivor format included a three-week qualifying period to establish the field, which consisted of the low nine scores plus the prior year’s champion, John Dolan. The 9-hole tournament began with 10 golfers and eliminated the high score on a hole-by-hole basis. The field of players consisted of the following golfers and their respective qualifying scores: John Dolan (defending champion), Mark Guetzko (70), Keith Zietlow (71), Clayton Larson (72), Luke Imsland (73), Harrison Guetzko (74), Trent Shaw (76), Sam Milroy (77), Tom Fetter (77), and Bryce Frick (78).

After seven holes of play, three players remained — Luke Imsland, Mark Guetzko and Larsen. Imsland was eliminated on the 8th in a chip off after a tie with Guetzko. The final hole ended with both Larsen and Guetzko carding pars, extending the match into sudden death. After five extra holes of sudden death and no winner, darkness demanded an end to the tournament where it was decided with a single shot from 100 yards, where Larsen secured the victory.


(photos courtesy of Pin Oak)