Tuesday’s Unofficial Election Results

Jim Heavens has been elected as Dyersville’s next mayor, defeating Al Haas with 72-percent of the vote Tuesday. The two former mayors found themselves running against each other for a third time for the mayor’s seat, which became wide open when current Dyersville mayor Dan Willenborg announced he would not seek a second term due to health concerns.  Heavens served as Dyersville mayor from 2003 to 2013, when he lost his re-election bid to Haas. Haas served just one term until Willenborg defeated him two years ago.

In Manchester, it looks like longtime city council member Ron Struble will keep his seat… getting just enough votes to squeak by the first challenger he’s had in 16 years. Struble defeated Doug Hawker with 53-percent of the vote (198 to 174).

And in Delhi, six candidates were vying for three open city council seats… the final numbers are close… Susan Luensmann 132, Rosanne Downs 114, Rick Bojorquez 111, Shawn Wilson 110, Craig Davis 106 and Sherri Noonan 85. The vote totals will become official once they are canvassed by the County later this week.

And it appears that the Local Option Sales and Services Tax will be re-established in all cities who had the issue on their ballot, as well as the County, for another ten years.

In other contested city elections…  Liz Miller defeated incumbent Gerald Vandenvorde for Hazleton mayor, Bonita Davis won re-election as Independence mayor, Sue Webster was re-elected Rowley mayor, Dale Barnes was re-elected Anamosa mayor, Greg Staner was elected Cascade mayor, Clinton Charles McClintock will serve as the next Alburnett mayor, and Bill Frommelt was elected Guttenburg mayor.

You can find the complete results of Tuesday’s city elections and Delaware County’s special countywide election by clicking here: TUESDAY ELECTION RESULTS.