HS BOWLING: WD Hawks Sweep Monticello Again and Prepare for Final Home Meet

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director:

For the second time in a week the West Delaware Hawks Girls and Boys Bowling teams defeated Monticello. The meet yesterday was a late addition to the schedule to give the first-year Panthers program more competition experience and took place at Legacy Lanes in Monticello. The 4th-ranked Hawk Boys improved their mark to 5-2 by winning 3000-2800. They were led by Ian Tibbott’s 433, Jim Shover had a 416, 381 for John Juergens, Alex Schnieders a 373 and a 363 for Jeff Bockenstedt. Monticello’s Kegan Arduser rolled a match-high 483 and teammate Caleb Gilmore had a 418. The 6th-rated Hawk Girls posted a commanding 2557-2243 victory to up their record to 5-2. Hannah Axline led the way with a 394, Lorna Niedert had a 327, 324 for Andrea Salow and Kaley Petlon and 318 for Lacey Cole.

The Hawk teams will be back at home this afternoon hosting Marion inside Lightning Lanes in Manchester. It will be the final home contest of the season and it also will be senior day to recognize the 11 seniors in the program. For the girls- 2-time individual state champion Andrea Salow, Kennedi Rogers, Shelby DeSotel and Abigail Wilson. On the boys team- last years state champ Jeff Boeckenstedt, John Juergens, Jim Shover, Tanner and Tristan Kelley, Zach Grabbe and East Buchanan’s Channing Pollock.

The Marion Girls are ranked 7th with a 2-3 record while the Boys of Marion are not ranked with a mark of 1-5. The first rolls will begin at 4pm this afternoon.

The 2018 State Bowling Qualifying sites and assignments were released yesterday afternoon from the IHSAA and IGHSAU. With State Qualifying Meets to be held on Tuesday, Feb. 13th.

In Class 1A-

District 4 will be held at Cherry Lanes in the Diamond Jo Casino hosted by Dubuque Hempstead with a 10am start time. West Delaware will be joined by Camanche, Cascade, Waterloo Columbus, Isaac Newton Academy, Oelwein and Dubuque Wahlert.

District 5 also begins at 10am and will be hosted by Maquoketa at Timber Lanes and consists of Monticello, Marion, Durant, Central DeWitt and Bellevue.

In Class 2A-

District 3 will be at the Plaza Bowl of Clinton starting at 1pm. Western Dubuque will be joined by Clinton, Cedar Rapids Washington and Burlington.

District 2 is at Ridgewood Lanes in Fort Dodge at 10am. Besides host Fort Dodge, Independence will face Waverly-Shell Rock and Waterloo East.