HS Sports: Basketball and Bowling Award Banquets Held Monday Night

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director:

Two of the three West Delaware High School Winter Sports programs held their season ending award banquets last night hosted by the West Delaware Athletic Boosters, Athletics Department and AD Matt Weis.

The Boys and Girls Bowling Banquet was held at Lightning Lanes. Both squads finished the season with 6-3 records.

The boys celebrated back to back state championships in Class 1A led by head coach Bob Morris and assistants Sue Morris and Ken Boesenberg. With the efforts on the lanes of Jeff Boeckenstedt, John Juergens, Alex Schneieders, Ian Tibbott, Eli Heims and individual runner-up Jim Shover. The team held a match average of 2916.

Ian Tibbott was named to Iowa High School Bowling Coaches Association’s All-District First Team and All-State Second Team.

The Hawk Boys received the “Excellence in Academic Achievement” Award for the first time with a Varsity and JV combined GPA of 3.21. WaMaC All-Academic Awards went to Juergens, Shover, Tyler Salow, Schnieders and Tibbott.

The Rookie of the Year honor went to Heims. Schnieders and Zach Grabbe took home Coaches Awards. The Most Improved Bowler was given to John Juergens. Team Captains were Shover and Tibbott with Jim Shover being the Most Valuable Bowler.

On the girls side-

Eleventh-year head coach Ken Boesenberg assisted by Coach Morris’ had a match average of 2476 and finished 5th place at the 1A tournament qualifying for the 4th straight season and 6th of the last 8 years. Andrea Salow, a two-time state champion placed 4th. Lorna Niedert claimed 8th place.

IGCA All-District Team selections went to Salow on first team and Niedert on second.

IGCA All-State Team was represented by Salow on the first team.

The Hawks Girls were awarded the IGHSAU “Distinguished Academic Achievement” Award for a combined JV and Varsity GPA of 3.52.

Kennedi Rogers, Abigail Wilson and Salow all earned All-Academic Awards.

Rogers and Salow were honored as Team Captains, Salow also earned the Most Valuable Award while the Most Valuable teammate honor went to JV member Shelby DeSotel. Newcomer of the year went to Lorna Niedert of East Buchanan.


The Boys and Girls Basketball and Cheerleaders Banquet was held at WD High School. Cheer leading sponsor Angie Zehr recognized Melanie Loughren, Addy Reiken and Illiana Rohlf-McGraw for their dedication and effort despite low numbers. The trio earned a Academic Award from the IGHSAU for maintaining a GPA of 3.53. Reiken was a WaMaC Academic All-Conference selection.

The Girls Basketball varsity team guided by Rod Conrad finished 5-17 and said goodbye to a senior group that consisted of six players. Coach Conrad talked about how much they mean to him and will be missed by his program:

CONRAD1 3-20

All three squads earned the “Distinguished in Academic Achievement” Award by attaining a GPA of 3.72. WaMaC Academic All-Conference honorees included Bailey Beckman, Abby McGrane, Madalynn Burke, Lauren Collier, Georgie Hilby, Offerman and O’Connell.

WaMaC East Conference selections went to Lauren Collier on 2nd team and represented WD at the WaMaC all-star game last Saturday in Van Horne. Honorable Mentions went to Offerman and O’Connell. Offerman was also named to the IGCA Northeast All-District Team and will play in that all-star game at Kirkwood Community College on Sunday April 7th at Noon.

Lauren Collier also picked up the E. Wayne Cooley “You Can Award” for demonstrating character and leadership. The Team First Award from the IBCA went to Brooke O’Connell for her commitment to service and sacrifice on behalf of her team, teammates and school.

Team Awards that were voted on by roster members:

Most Versatile- Lauren Collier

Most Inspirational- Macey Kleitsch

Best Defensive- Burke

Unsung Hero- Allison Collier

Iron Hawk- O’Connell

Best Offensive Player- Offerman

Hustle- Eva Winn

Most Improved- McGrane

6th player- Beckman

The JV girls were 5-15 and coached by 1992 WD graduate Rich McMahon who concluded his 26th season of coaching basketball, the Fresh-Soph squad was led by 1997 Hawk grad Shannon Funke.

The Hawk Boys ended at 17-6 and ranked 6th in Class 3A under 2000 WD alum Matt Uthoff who wrapped up his 5th season. The Hawks won the program’s 10th WaMaC conference title and 2nd in a row as they shared the East side crown with Western Dubuque. The varsity team led the WaMaC with fewest points allowed defensively for the fourth year in a row with a per game average of 45.5 and set the school program record for the 3rd straight season and finished this season as the 2nd best defensive team in Class 3A. Coach Uthoff sums up what else the varsity group accomplished:

UTHOFF1 3-20

The boys held a GPA of 3.37 to earn an Academic Award from the IHSAA. WaMaC Academic All-Conference selections went to Max Cizek, Dunston Werner, Tyler Kelley, Logan Winn, Drew Wubbena, Hunter Zieser, Keegan Kolbet, Derek Krogmann and Gavin Soppe.

Tyler Kelley and Derek Krogmann both earned WaMaC First Team honors and the same recognition for All-Substate, WaMaC honorable mention went to Trevor O’Reilly and Kyle Kelley. The WaMaC East coaching staff of the year went to Coach Uthoff, Tim McMahon and Brad Wubbena.

Krogmann was an INA Second Team All-State selection. He also became the 3rd all-time leading scorer surpassing Casey Ditch in mid-January. The junior sits behind Todd Klosterman and B.J. Hermsen. Krogmann also became the program’s top rebounder of all-time with 797, he also topped former teammate John Nagel with most career free throws made with 308.

Coach Uthoff gave great credit for all ten of the seniors sticking it out and just being part of the success and helping out anyway they could, he also talked about the one senior who he has been with the last four seasons and who he will especially miss on and off the floor:

UTHOFF2 3-20

Kelley who has played the most varsity games ever by a Hawk with 86 became the 8th leading scorer in Hawks history with 854 career points, 17 behind Adam Salow.

The sophomore’s under coach McMahon finished at 7-14.

The full season-wrap interviews with coach Conrad and coach Uthoff can be found below…….

The West Delaware Wrestling and Cheerleaders banquet will take place tonight inside West Delaware High School.

Jon with coach Conrad:


Jon with coach Uthoff: