Primary Election Results

Fred Hubbell will face Republican Governor Kim Reynolds in the November general election. Hubbell won the Democratic nomination in Tuesday’s primary, beating out Cathy Glasson, Andy McGuire, John Norris and Ross Wilburn.

About 1,800 Iowa voters participated in the Libertarian Party’s Primary, with Jake Porter winning the party’s nomination for governor with 54-percent over Marco Battaglia.

In the Democratic race for U.S. House District 1, State Representative and Dubuque County native Abby Finkenauer won with a dominant finish over Thomas Heckroth, Courtney Rowe and George Ramsey. Finkenauer, who is 29 years old, would be the youngest woman ever elected to Congress if she defeats Blum’s bid for a third term.

The man who’s been State Ag Secretary since March appears to have fallen a fraction short of the 35-percent threshold he needed to win the Republican Party’s nomination. Shortly after 1 a.m., all 99 counties had reported results and Mike Naig had 34-point-74 percent. That means delegates at the Iowa GOP’s state convention on June 16th will decide who to nominate for State Ag Secretary. State Senator Dan Zumbach of Ryan finished in second with 21-percent.  Craig Lang placed third with 19-percent of the vote. Naig says he’ll take nothing for granted as the race moves to another phase.

Des Moines businesswoman Deidre DeJear made history by winning the Democratic nomination for Iowa Secretary of State and will face Republican Paul Pate in November. She becomes the first African American to win a major political party nomination for a statewide office in Iowa.

In other area contested races…

Iowa House District 56 (Democrat) – Lori Egan won with 68-percent of the vote over Andy Kelleher

Iowa House District 57 (Democrat) – Nancy Fett narrowly defeated Leo Gansen 51-percent to 49-percent

Clayton Co. Supervisor (GOP) – Sharon Keehner and Steve Doeppke were declared the two winners, with 32-percent and 21-percent respectively

Dubuque Co. Attorney (Democrat) – CJ May III was declared the winner over Ry Meyer with 54-percent of the vote

Dubuque Co. Supervisors (Democrat) – Ann McDonough and Jay Wickham were declared the two winners

Jones Co. Supervisor – District 3 (GOP) – Jon Zirkelbach defeated John Null with 58-percent of the vote

Linn Co. Supervisor – District 1 (Democrat) – Stacey Walker won over James Houser with 70-percent of the vote