General Election Results

Republican Kim Reynolds won her first full term as governor Tuesday, beating Democratic businessman Fred Hubbell to become the first woman elected governor in Iowa. Reynolds became governor in 2017 after Terry Branstad was named ambassador to China. She defeated Hubbell in a close race 50-percent to 47-percent, by nearly 40-thousand votes.
Democrat Abby Finkenauer defeated Republican incumbent Rod Blum to become one of Iowa’s first female representatives in the U.S. House. Finkenauer garnered 50-percent of the vote compared to Blum’s 46-percent.
Republican State Representative Lee Hein of Monticello has won re-election in the Iowa House.
In January, Hein will return to the State Capitol in Des Moines, where Republicans will be in control of both the House and Senate after last night’s races. Hein says the budget will be his #1 priority.
Hein defeated Democratic challenger Reenie Montgomery of Manchester for the seat in District 96 with 63-percent of the vote.
Montgomery knocked on hundreds of doors over the past several months, with lots of supporters helping her get the word out about her campaign. She appreciates everyone who supported her. While she’s disappointed she won’t get to tackle her priorities in Des Moines, she’s hoping for the best when the legislature reconvenes.
In other state races, Dyersville resident and Republican Carrie Koelker won the State Senate District 29 race against Democratic incumbent Tod Bowman with 54-percent of the vote.
GOP incumbent Louis Zumbach defeated Democrat Christian Andrews with 54-percent of the vote to regain his State House District 95 seat.
Republican Shannon Lundgren won re-election in Iowa House District 57 over Democrat Nancy Fett with 55-percent of the vote.
Anne Osmundson and Andy McKean were also winners of State House seats last night.
No contested races in Delaware County, with Supervisor Shirley Helmrichs, Treasurer Pam Klein, Recorder Daneen Schindler and Attorney John Bernau all re-elected.

In Dubuque County, Jay Wickham and Ann McDonough elected to the Board of Supervisors, with CJ May III elected Dubuque County Attorney and John Murphy elected Treasurer.

Stacey Walker, Ben Rogers and Brent Oleson all elected to the Linn County Board of Supervisors, with Sharon Gonzalez elected Linn County Treasurer.

In Buchanan County, Gary Gissel and Donald Shonka were elected to the Board of Supervisors, with Amy Wright winning Buchanan County Treasurer.

For the Clayton County Supervisors, Sharon Keehner and Steve Doeepke were elected to the board.

In Fayette County, Jeanine Tellin and Martin Ray Stanbrough were elected to the Board of Supervisors.

And in the City of Monticello, Brenda Hanken won the vacant City Council At-Large seat with 42-percent. And 56-percent of Monticello voters approved increasing the city’s hotel/motel tax from 5 to 7 percent – that goes into effect in January.

Voter turnout was high across the state and the country in Tuesday’s mid-term election, with Delaware County turnout at over 64-percent.