FEMA Denies Disaster Assistance for Buchanan County

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) – FEMA has again denied Gov. Kim Reynolds’ request for disaster assistance to flood victims in four Iowa counties.

Reynolds announced Monday that FEMA had denied her appeal of the agency’s earlier denial of help to victims in Buchanan County, as well as Dickinson, Polk and Winnebago counties. The request followed severe storms and flooding from June 6th to July 2nd.

President Donald Trump declared the four counties presidential disaster areas, making them available for other assistance.

Reynolds also issued a disaster proclamation for the counties and has worked to provide more than $2.8 million in aid.