Federal Disaster Declaration for Fayette County

Gov. Kim Reynolds says President Trump has granted her request for an expedited disaster declaration for over half of Iowa’s counties due to flood damage.

Fayette County is among fifty-six counties eligible to apply for public assistance funding through FEMA. The presidential declaration also makes individual assistance available for five counties in Iowa.

Hazard mitigation funding is also available statewide.

Reynolds has estimated damage from flooding that began March 13th at one-point-six billion dollars.

Other counties may be added to the declaration as additional damage is reported to State officials.


story courtesy of Associated Press