Local Teens Among Candidates for Iowa Dairy Princess

Eight young women involved with the Iowa dairy community will compete to win the title of 66th Iowa State Dairy Princess on Wednesday, August 7 at 7:30 at the Multi-Media Center of the Cattle Barn at the state fairgrounds in Des Moines.

The contestants include Tehya Demmer representing Delaware County, Brianna Lucey representing Clayton County, Julie Hammerand representing Dubuque County, and Brylie Volker representing Fayette County, along with Alexis Costello, Mary Holtz, Faith Palmer, and Stacia Sexton.

The winners are chosen on their knowledge and enthusiasm about dairy, as well as personality and communication ability during judging, which begins on August 6. Both the princess and her alternate will receive scholarships from Midwest Dairy, which sponsors the contest and princess program on behalf of Iowa’s dairy farmers.

The new Princess and Alternate will begin their duties on September 1.