Local Families Honored with Century and Heritage Farm Awards

Several local families were recently honored with Century and Heritage Farm awards from the State of Iowa.

The awards presented by the Iowa Department of Agriculture honor farms that have been continuously owned by a single family for 100 years or more in the case of Century Farms and 150 years or more in the case of Heritage Farms.

Century Farm honorees this year include:

George & Donna Puffett in Delaware County

Dennis Crawford, Keller Acres LLC and Keith & Kathy Sanford in Buchanan County

David & Dawn Amundson, Lester and Una Groth, Rodney Sylvester and Harlan Walch in Clayton County

Marvin & Joyce Schueller, John and Judith Vonderhaar, James & Joan Willenbring and Peter Welling in Dubuque County

William and Carole Burke, Robert and Dawn Reiter, Dennis and Karen Franzen and Roger and Karen Winter in Fayette County

And… Mark and Jeannine Dirks and Michael and Lisa First in Jones County.

Heritage Farm honorees this year include:

Pat Mensen, Don Preussner, Steve & Mary Sheppard and Gordon & Freda Smith in Delaware County

The Butterfield Residuary Trust, Keller Acres and Janet and Terrence Whitney in Buchanan County

Jeff & Brenda Burr, Cory & Candace Drahn and Darren & Jo Larson in Clayton County

Rosalee Donahue, Steven & Christine Herbers, Larry Thier, John and Judith Vonderhaar and Walter & Judy Welling in Dubuque County

Randy Kiel in Fayette County

Richard & Janice Glenn in Jones County

And… the Hatcher Rev. Trust, Josephine Page and Dennis & Deb Zabokrtsky in Linn County.

These farm families were honored with their Century and Heritage Farm awards at the Iowa State Fair last month.