Several Local Cities Receive Tree City USA Award

Several local communities have been recognized for their dedication to trees.

Manchester, Hopkinton, Luxemburg and Oelwein have been announced as recipients of the Tree City USA Award.

To qualify for the Tree City USA Award, a city must have either a city forester or an active city tree board and have a tree ordinance. They must also spend at least two dollars per capita annually for its community forestry program and have a tree planting and maintenance plan.

The awards are presented on behalf of the Arbor Day Foundation and the Iowa DNR.