Zumbach, Hein Re-elected to Iowa Legislature

State Senator Dan Zumbach has been re-elected to another term.

The Republican farmer who lives near Ryan defeated Democratic small business owner Eric Green of Monticello with 65% of the vote. He spoke with KMCH after his victory late Tuesday night.

Zumbach has served in the Senate since 2013 and says he’s looking forward to another opportunity to serve.

Zumbach was watching the results come in from home on Tuesday night.

In other locally contested State Senate races, Republican Craig Johnson defeated Democrat Pam Egli 61 to 39% in District 32.

In local State House races, Republican Lee Hein was re-elected to his District 96 seat, defeating Democrat Everett Chase with 70% of the vote. Hein, a farmer from Monticello, has held the seat since 2011. In District 58, Republican Steven Bradley defeated Democrat Andy McKean 54 to 46%. In District 57, Republican Shannon Lundgren was re-elected over Democrat Ryan Patrick Quinn with 67% of the vote. Other winners include Republican Michael Bergan in District 55, Republican Chad Ingels in District 56 and Republican Charlie McClintock in District 95.

And in county races, John Schlarmann and Jeff Swisher were elected to the Jones County Board of Supervisors with 63% and 75% of the vote respectively, with Whitney Hein elected as Jones County Auditor (with 64% of the vote). Other winners in Supervisor races include Harley Pothoff in Dubuque County (54%), Ray Allen Peterson in Clayton County (68%), Clayton Ohrt in Buchanan County (60%), Louie Zumbach in Linn County (52%) and Janell Bradley in Fayette County (66%).