Buchanan and Fayette Counties Receive Federal Disaster Declaration

NE Iowa Flooding 6-18-14DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) – Gov. Terry Branstad says 26 Iowa counties will receive federal disaster support to deal with damage from severe weather in June.

The presidential disaster declaration includes counties in the northern part of the state that experienced damage from winds, tornadoes, rain and flooding. Buchanan and Fayette counties are among the counties included.

Under the declaration, the counties can access federal funds for debris removal, property repairs or other needs. The declaration also includes funding to help the state strengthen infrastructure and limit the impact of future disasters.

This is Iowa’s second such presidential declaration this year. Branstad says additional requests for federal declarations may be sent later.