Local Sports articles

Moser Gymnasts Place Well at Rock Island Meet

Moser School of Dance and Gymnastic area athletes recently competed in the USTA Power Tumbling meet in Rock Island, Illinois last Sunday, November 12th. Twenty-five teams were entered with around 550 athletes competing. Area gymnasts who placed first include Carter Phillips, Katelin Ante, Jacinda McDermott, Kennedy Bulman, Elizabeth Recker, Natalie Besler, Tucker Erickson, Amy Morris, Makenna Payne, Madilyn Payne, Lainey

WEST DELAWARE FOOTBALL: Program Holds Annual Awards Night

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director: West Delaware High School Activities Director Matt Weis and the Athletic Department hosted the annual Football and Cheerleading Awards Banquet last night. Cheerleading Sponsor Rachel Tucker recognized her six cheerleaders who supported the teams throughout the season. Those ladies were Ethan Glick, Malena Grummitt, Amber Hettinger, Austyn Isaacs, Addy Rieken and

Beckman Grad Earns IIAC All-Iowa Conference Football Honors

A former Beckman athlete has made the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference’s All-Iowa Conference Football Team. Tony Anstoetter of Farley earned first-team all-conference honors for the second time in his college career. Anstoetter was a senior linebacker for Wartburg this season. He totaled 70 tackles – 8.8 per game in conference play. He also had 2.5

HIGH SCHOOL SPORTS: Bill Logan Recognized For His Dedication To KMCH Sports Broadcast Coverage

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director: KMCH Sports Broadcaster Bill Logan will receive an Iowa High School Athletic Association News Media Award Thursday night during halftime of the Class 3A championship game as Cedar Rapids Xavier meets Pella inside the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls.  The award is presented annually by the Board of Control to honor members of

HS GIRLS BASKETBALL: West Delaware Looks For Improvement

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director: The High School Girls basketball season began with practices last Monday around the state. This week jamborees and Hall of Pride scrimmages will take place before game play officially begins next Monday night. The West Delaware girls hope to improve on a varsity 8-14 overall record and a 5-9 WaMaC East division mark, tied for

HS STATE VOLLEYBALL: Day 1 Results/Day 2 Preview

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director: Day one of the 47th annual high school volleyball state tournament at the US Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids featured all of the Class 5A and 4A quarterfinals. Our lone area coverage match saw Independence end their season against top-ranked Cedar Rapids Xavier 3-0, falling 25-16, 25-10 and 25-23 in 58

HS VOLLEYBALL: State Tournament Begins Tuesday

By Jon Swisher-Sports Director: The 2017 High School Volleyball State Tournament starts up this morning inside the U.S. Cellular Center downtown Cedar Rapids. In Class 5A Quarterfinal matches- 12:00 p.m.  Cedar Falls vs. Urbandale 12:00 p.m.  West Des Moines Valley vs. Dowling Catholic 2:00 p.m. Cedar Rapids Jefferson vs. Linn-Mar 2:00 p.m. Ankeny Centennial vs.