Local NewsPhotos

West Delaware and Independence Honored by Iowa Association of School Boards

The West Delaware and Independence School Boards are among several local school boards recently honored by the Iowa Association of School Boards.

The Iowa Association of School Boards presented the 2022-23 Annual Board Awards on November 16th during the IASB Annual Convention in Des Moines. 

Individual Achievement Award certificates were presented to over two hundred board members from 92 PK-12 school boards, four area education agency boards and one community college board. Recipients completed a minimum of 15 hours of learning in one year. Recipients include

Jamie Vaske, Steven Buesing, Bruce Mitchell, Carl Johnson and Sam Milroy of West Delaware; and Charlie McCardle, Kim Hansen, Gina Trimble, Eric Smith and Audrey Hill of Independence.  

Team Achievement Award plaques were presented to West Delaware, Independence and nearly thirty other school boards who had a majority of board members earn the Individual Achievement Award. 

The Award of Honor certificates were presented to 29 superintendents and one AEA chief administrator who completed a minimum of 15 hours of learning in one year; and had at least two individual board members in the district, AEA or community college who earned Individual Achievement Awards. Local honorees included West Delaware Superintendent Dr. Kristen Rickey and Independence Superintendent Cynthia Phillips.


photo courtesy of West Delaware 

Back to top button