AgricultureLocal NewsPhotos

Several Local Residents Honored at Iowa Pork Congress

Several local residents were honored at the Iowa Pork Congress in Des Moines last week.

Trish Cook of Winthrop wrapped up her one-year term as President of the Iowa Pork Producers Association. Cook was the first female president in IPPA’s history. Washington County pig farmer Matt Gent took over the role of president during the organization’s annual meeting on January 23rd. He praised Cook for her leadership during a very difficult year for pork producers. Both Gent and Cook will serve one-year terms in their new roles.

Iowa’s Master Pork Producers for 2023 were also announced last Wednesday night at the Iowa Pork Congress banquet in Des Moines. A Master Pork Producer award denotes an individual’s or family’s excellence in pork production, as measured by pork production statistics, dedication to We Care® principles, and contributions to their community. Ryan Bartachek of Masonville was included in this year’s class of Master Pork Producers. 

And a former Delaware County pork princess received a scholarship from the Iowa Pork Producers. Ella Cole of Manchester served as Delaware County Pork Princess for two years recently. She competed in the Pork Youth Leadership Team contest this year – and though she didn’t win one of the three spots on the team, she was named a recipient of a $200 scholarship. 

Lilly Bru of Gladbrook was named Iowa Pork Queen, with Abby Elsamiller of Waverly and Aubrey Johnson of Iowa Falls selected as ambassadors to serve on the 2024 Iowa Pork Youth Leadership Team.


photos courtesy of Iowa Pork Producers Association

Back to top button