Local News

Results of the 2022 Primary Election

Chuck Grassley has been declared the winner of the GOP’s nomination as he seeks an eighth term in the U.S. Senate. 

Jim Carlin, a Republican state senator from Sioux City, had challenged Grassley in Tuesday’s primary. Grassley defeated Carlin with 73% of the vote. 

Grassley will face the winner of the Democratic Primary. Retired Navy Admiral Mike Franken has been declared the winner, defeating former Iowa Congresswoman Abby Finkenauer and Glenn Hurst, a physician from Minden. Franken received 55% of the vote, with Finkenauer receiving 39% and Hurst 4%.

A couple of other statewide races were contested in Tuesday’s Primary. Joel Miller defeated Eric Van Lancker for the Democratic nomination for Secretary of State with 71% of the vote. And Todd Halbur won in a close race over Mary Ann Hanusa for the Republican nomination for State Auditor with 51% of the vote. 

The only locally contested race for a seat in the Iowa legislature was from Iowa House District 66. The district was formed last year after the once-in-a-decade redistricting, with District 66 covering all of Jones County and the majority of Jackson County. Two current State Representatives faced each other in the Republican Primary on Tuesday – Steven Bradley of Cascade and Lee Hein of Monticello. Bradley ended the night with 55% of the vote – about 300 votes ahead of Hein.

There were no locally contested races on the Delaware County level – all of the county officials running for re-election on the Republican ballot ran unopposed, including Supervisor Shirley Helmrichs, Treasurer Pam Klein, Recorder Daneen Schindler and Attorney John Bernau. 

Nearly 12-percent of Delaware County voters turned out for the Primary Election, with the county voting right in line with the rest of the state – choosing Grassley, Franken, Miller and Halbur. 

The winners of Tuesday’s Primary move on to the General Election on Tuesday, November 8th. That ballot will also feature such contested races as the Governor’s race between Republican incumbent Kim Reynolds and Democrat challenger Deidre DeJear, the U.S. Representative District 2 race between Republican incumbent Ashley Hinson and Democrat challenger Liz Mathis and – here locally – the State Representative District 67 race between Republican Craig Johnson of Independence and Democrat Terry McGovern of Earlville.

Back to top button