Ag Informer – Shirbroun Elected ISA President

The Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) board of directors elected Suzanne Shirbroun of Farmersburg as president-elect during its September meeting held in Ankeny.

Shirbroun was first elected as a District 3 director in 2016. She and her husband Joe manage a sixth-generation diversified row crop and seed business in Clayton County. They’ve been long-time participants in ISA production research activities and advocates for the soybean checkoff and agriculture.

“It’s a privilege to have the opportunity to represent Iowa’s soybean farmers in this capacity,” says Shirbroun who most recently served as ISA secretary. “From market development to international trade, increased demand for high-quality soy is driving farmer optimism heading into the new year. As stewards of soybean checkoff dollars, the ISA board will continue advancing issues directly benefiting Iowa soybean farmers.”

Also elected to one-year terms as ISA officers were: Brent Swart of Spencer (Clay County), treasurer; Jeff Frank of Auburn (Sac County), secretary; and Tom Adam of Harper (Keokuk County), at-large.

Randy Miller of Lacona (Warren County) was seated as ISA president after the gavel was handed off by immediate past president Robb Ewoldt of Davenport.

“Members of the executive committee are passionate, experienced and focused on a wide range of industry interests,” added Shirbroun. “Whether it’s soybean research, demand, or education, we look forward to growing opportunities for Iowa soybean farmers and positioning the oilseed and industry for continued success.”

ISA directors also re-elected Steph Essick of Dickens (Clay County); Morey Hill of Madrid (Boone County); and Dave Walton of Wilton (Muscatine County); as directors on the American Soybean Association (ASA) board. In addition, Pat Swanson of Ottumwa (Wapello County), will join the ASA board for a first term beginning in December.


Back to top button